Metropolitan Demetrius’s Schedule for April and May 2017

Trip to New York City
Friday, April 14 - Sunday, April 16 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Owego, NY
Saturday, April 22 - Sunday, April 23 (St Maximos Church)

Trip to New York City
Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, April 30 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Boston
Friday, May 5 - Monday, May 8 (St Mark Cathedral)

Trip to Rochester, NY
Saturday, May 20 - Monday, May 22 (Holy Ascension Church)

Trip to Bearsville, NY
Thursday, May 25 - Friday, May 26 (Holy Ascension Monastery)

Trip to New York City/Long Island
Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29 (St Markella, NYC/St Isidore, Long Island)

Orthodox Awareness

Why Do We Follow the Old Orthodox Calendar?

Why do we follow the Old Orthodox Calendar?

a Because based on it, the First Ecumenical Council established the Paschal Canon and appointed that the feast of Holy Pascha may fall anywhere from March 22nd until April 25th, while with the New (Papal) Calendar it can fall as late at May 8th.

b The Gregorian (Papal) Calendar has been condemned by three Pan-Orthodox Councils under Patriarch Jeremiah Tranos (1583, 1587, 1589) Read more...

Missions

Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Mission, Tucson, Arizona

Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Church in Tucson, AZ, is a beautiful mission parish near downtown Tucson, a city in southern Arizona. It was started in 1997 by Father John Bockman, who was a missionary priest formerly serving missions in Tennessee and Massachusetts since 1990. Read more...

Youth

Registration is now open for the 2017 St Xenia Camp. Please visit the St Xenia Camp website for more information and registration.

Ask A Priest

Morning and Evening Prayers

Q. Are the prayers in the blue prayer book [A Prayerbook for Orthodox Christians by the Holy Transfiguration Monastery —ed.] compulsory for everyone? I mean their morning prayers and the service of Small Compline. My confessor gave me a special rule but wasn’t clear about whether this replaced the book prayers or was in addition to them. Read more...